top of page


Ruud Gullit, Frank Rijkaard, Edgar Davids, Clarence Seedorf, Patrick Kluivert, Ryan Babel, Georginio Wijnaldum and Jimmy Hasselbaink. What sounds like a Dutch All-Star team is actually a list of players that were eligible to play for the Surinamese national team! In a parallel universe, where these players chose to play for Suriname instead of the Netherlands, the forces of football would have been shifted significantly. In reality though, Suriname is forced to play mainly with local players, causing them to never have qualified for a major tournament (despite the Gold Cup in 1977 and 1985).

As their neighbors Guyana, Suriname belongs to the CONCACAF association, rather than the CONMEBOL, like other South American nations.

bottom of page